对话

在标准交互式进程中,可以用 Wolfram 语言命令 Dialog 去建立一个子进程或者对话. 在进行计算的过程中,可以用对话与 Wolfram 语言相互作用. 像 "计算的跟踪" 中提到的一样,TraceDialog 在一个表达式计算的过程中的指定点自动调用 Dialog. 另外,在计算过程中要中断 Wolfram 语言时,一般用对话检查它的状态.

Dialog[]启动 Wolfram 语言对话
Dialog[expr]启动对话,将 expr 作为 的当前值
Return[]从对话返回,取 的当前值作为返回值
Return[expr]从对话返回,取 expr 作为返回值

启动对话和从对话返回.

启动一个对话.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
在对话中可以像在任何一个 Wolfram 语言进程中一样地进行计算.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=
Return 从一个对话中退出.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

退出一个对话时,可以用 Return[expr] 返回一个对话值. 若用户不需要返回值,并且已经设置$IgnoreEOF=False 时,至少在基于文本界面的系统中可以用给出一个文件结束字符退出对话.

为计算这个表达式,Wolfram 语言启动一个对话.
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
对话的返回值 现在被插入原来的表达式中.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

在开始一个对话时,有一些初始表达式是有用的. 如果用 Dialog[expr],那么 Wolfram 语言就开始一个对话,将expr 作为初始表达式,可以按 的值访问.

开始一个有初始表达式 的对话.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=
是该对话中的初始表达式.
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
从第一个对话返回一个值,开始具有初始表达式 的第二个对话.
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[8]=
从第二个对话返回一个值,最后结果是有从这两个对话中插入值的原始表达式.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=

Dialog 通过标准 Wolfram 语言主循环的一个辅助版本工作. 所启动的每个对话从基本主循环继承各种值. 但有些值相对于该对话是局部的,退出对话时就恢复其原始值.

例如,启动对话时继承当前行数 $Line. 这意味着对话中的行数按主循环中的序号排列. 但是 $Line 的值相对应该对话是局部的. 于是,当退出该对话时,$Line 的值就恢复到它在主循环中的值.

如果在 Wolfram 语言进程的第 行开始一个对话,则该对话的第一行就标记为 In[11]. 对话的相继行就标记为 In[12]In[13] 等. 当退出对话时,在主循环中的下行将标记为 In[11]. 此时,仍然可以引用对话中所产生的结果 Out[11]Out[12] 等. 但这些结果当主循环进行到行 In[12]In[13] 等时就会被覆盖.

在一个标准 Wolfram 语言进程中,通过观察输入和输出行是否缩进可以判断是否处于一个对话中. 当从对话中再调用对话时,将缩进两个层次. 一般地,在 d 嵌套循环中的缩进由对象 DialogIndent[d] 的输出形式决定. 通过定义该对象的格式就可以指定在所用的 Wolfram 语言进程中的对话怎样缩进.

DialogSymbols:>{x,y,}其值相对于对话是局部的符号
DialogSymbols:>{x=x0,y=y0,}具有初始值的符号
DialogProlog:>expr在开始对话之前计算的表达式

Dialog 选项.

不论对 DialogSymbols 进行什么设置,Dialog 总是将 $Line$Epilog$MessageList 的值作为局部处理. 注意,对 $Epilog 给出一个值时,在退出对话时它就自动计算.

调用 Dialog 时首选局部化变量的值,然后计算对 DialogProlog 选项设置的任何表达式. 如果对 Dialog 函数明确给出了变量,接下来就计算它. 最后才实际开始该对话.

退出对话时可以明确用 Return[expr] 指定返回值. 不这样做时,返回值就是对话中最后产生的一个值.

Dialogs

Within a standard interactive session, you can create "subsessions" or dialogs using the Wolfram Language command Dialog. Dialogs are often useful if you want to interact with the Wolfram Language while it is in the middle of doing a calculation. As mentioned in "Tracing Evaluation", TraceDialog for example automatically calls Dialog at specified points in the evaluation of a particular expression. In addition, if you interrupt the Wolfram Language during a computation, you can typically "inspect" its state using a dialog.

Dialog[]initiate a Wolfram Language dialog
Dialog[expr]initiate a dialog with expr as the current value of
Return[]return from a dialog, taking the current value of as the return value
Return[expr]return from a dialog, taking expr as the return value

Initiating and returning from dialogs.

This initiates a dialog.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
You can do computations in a dialog just as you would in any Wolfram Language session.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=
You can use Return to exit from a dialog.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

When you exit a dialog, you can return a value for the dialog using Return[expr]. If you do not want to return a value, and you have set $IgnoreEOF=False, then you can also exit a dialog simply by giving an endoffile character, at least on systems with textbased interfaces.

To evaluate this expression, the Wolfram Language initiates a dialog.
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
The value returned from the dialog is now inserted in the original expression.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

In starting a dialog, you will often find it useful to have some "initial expression". If you use Dialog[expr], then the Wolfram Language will start a dialog, using expr as the initial expression, accessible for example as the value of .

This first starts a dialog with initial expression .
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=
is the initial expression in the dialog.
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
This returns a value from the first dialog, and starts the second dialog, with initial expression .
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[8]=
This returns a value from the second dialog. The final result is the original expression, with values from the two dialogs inserted.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=

Dialog effectively works by running a subsidiary version of the standard Wolfram Language main loop. Each dialog you start effectively "inherits" various values from the overall main loop. Some of the values are, however, local to the dialog, so their original values are restored when you exit the dialog.

Thus, for example, dialogs inherit the current line number $Line when they start. This means that the lines in a dialog have numbers that follow the sequence used in the main loop. Nevertheless, the value of $Line is local to the dialog. As a result, when you exit the dialog, the value of $Line reverts to what it was in the main loop.

If you start a dialog on line of your Wolfram Language session, then the first line of the dialog will be labeled In[11]. Successive lines of the dialog will be labeled In[12], In[13], and so on. Then, when you exit the dialog, the next line in your main loop will be labeled In[11]. At this point, you can still refer to results generated within the dialog as Out[11], Out[12], and so on. These results will be overwritten, however, when you reach lines In[12], In[13], and so on in the main loop.

In a standard Wolfram Language session, you can tell whether you are in a dialog by seeing whether your input and output lines are indented. If you call a dialog from within a dialog, you will get two levels of indentation. In general, the indentation you get inside d nested dialogs is determined by the output form of the object DialogIndent[d]. By defining the format for this object, you can specify how dialogs should be indicated in your Wolfram Language session.

DialogSymbols:>{x,y,}symbols whose values should be treated as local to the dialog
DialogSymbols:>{x=x0,y=y0,}symbols with initial values
DialogProlog:>expran expression to evaluate before starting the dialog

Options for Dialog.

Whatever setting you give for DialogSymbols, Dialog will always treat the values of $Line, $Epilog, and $MessageList as local. Note that if you give a value for $Epilog, it will automatically be evaluated when you exit the dialog.

When you call Dialog, its first step is to localize the values of variables. Then it evaluates any expression you have set for the option DialogProlog. If you have given an explicit argument to the Dialog function, this is then evaluated next. Finally, the actual dialog is started.

When you exit the dialog, you can explicitly specify the return value using Return[expr]. If you do not do this, the return value will be taken to be the last value generated in the dialog.