非线性共轭梯度法

非线性共轭梯度法的基础是有效地运用线性共轭梯度法,其中残差被梯度取代. 因为从未产生明确的二次函数模型,所以它总是和 线搜索 方法结合起来使用.

第一种非线性共轭梯度法由 Fletcher 和 Reeves 提出的. 给定一个步骤方向 ,然后使用线搜索方法找到 使得 . 然后计算

至关重要的一点是用以选择 的线搜索满足强 Wolfe 条件; 这是确保方向 是下降方向所必要的 [NW99]].     

另一种通常(但并不总是)在实践中表现更好的方法是由Polak和Ribiere提出的,其中方程(2)由如下式子替代

在方程式(3)中, 有可能变成负的,在这种情况下,Wolfram 语言使用由 修改的算法. 在 Wolfram 语言中,默认的共轭梯度法是Polak-Ribere方法,但是也可以通过方法选项

Method->{"ConjugateGradient",Method->"FletcherReeves"}

选择使用Fletcher-Reeves方法.

共轭梯度法的优势是, 它们对于大规模问题使用较少的内存而且不需要数值线性代数处理,所以每个步骤都相当快. 缺点是,它们通常收敛速度显著慢于 牛顿 或者 拟牛顿 方法. 另外,步长的尺度通常也掌握得很差,因此 线搜索 算法每次可能需要更多的迭代,以找到一个可以接受的步骤.    

这里加载一个包含一些功用函数的程序包.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
这里画出非线性共轭梯度法所采取的步骤. 而其相应的路径远没有牛顿法的路径直接.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

非线性共轭梯度法带来的一个问题是何时重新启动它们. 当我们的搜索过程中,对函数的局部二次近似的性质也可能显著改变. 方法的局部收敛性取决于线性共轭梯度法的局部收敛性,对后者二次函数是不变的. 在一个具有 n 个变量的恒值二次函数和一个精确线搜索的情况下,线性算法将在 n 或更少迭代次数里达到收敛. 通过频繁的重新启动(采取 的最速下降步骤),有可能消除前面点的信息,而这些点的信息可能和目前搜索点的局部二次模型不相关. 如果您仔细查看这个例子,您可以看到方法重新启动的位置以及采取最速下降步骤的位置. 一种选择是在每 k 次迭代后,简单地重新启动,其中 . 对此您可以使用方法选项"RestartIterations"->k 具体指定. 另一个方法是根据下列测试,连续梯度不足够正交时,重新启动

其中阈值 ν 在 0 和 1之间,可以用方法选项 "RestartThreshold"->ν 具体指定.     

下表总结了在共轭梯度法中,您可以使用的选项.     

选项名
默认值
"Method""PolakRibiere"非线性共轭梯度法可以是 或者是
"RestartThreshold"1/10梯度正交性的阈值 ν,低于该值的时候将重新启动
"RestartIterations"多少个迭代次数后将重新启动
"StepControl""LineSearch"必须是 ,但您可以使用这个来指定线搜索方法

Method->"ConjugateGradient" 的方法选项.

应当指出的是,在 Wolfram 语言4 中 FindMinimum 的默认方法是结合了近似精确线搜索法的共轭梯度法. 由于历史的原因这一特点被保存下来,并且可以利用 FindMinimum 选项 Method->"Gradient" 访问. 通常,这将比更新的Method->"ConjugateGradient" 使用更多的函数和梯度求值次数,而后者本身所用的求值次数已远远超过 Wolfram 语言目前默认时所使用的方法.

Nonlinear Conjugate Gradient Methods

The basis for a nonlinear conjugate gradient method is to effectively apply the linear conjugate gradient method, where the residual is replaced by the gradient. A model quadratic function is never explicitly formed, so it is always combined with a line search method.

The first nonlinear conjugate gradient method was proposed by Fletcher and Reeves as follows. Given a step direction , use the line search to find such that . Then compute

It is essential that the line search for choosing satisfies the strong Wolfe conditions; this is necessary to ensure that the directions are descent directions [NW99].

An alternate method, which generally (but not always) works better in practice, is that of Polak and Ribiere, where equation (2) is replaced with

In formula (3), it is possible that can become negative, in which case the Wolfram Language uses the algorithm modified by using . In the Wolfram Language, the default conjugate gradient method is PolakRibiere, but the FletcherReeves method can be chosen by using the method option

Method->{"ConjugateGradient",Method->"FletcherReeves"}.

The advantage of conjugate gradient methods is that they use relatively little memory for large-scale problems and require no numerical linear algebra, so each step is quite fast. The disadvantage is that they typically converge much more slowly than Newton or quasi-Newton methods. Also, steps are typically poorly scaled for length, so the line search algorithm may require more iterations each time to find an acceptable step.

This loads a package that contains some utility functions.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
This shows a plot of the steps taken by the nonlinear conjugate gradient method. The path is much less direct than for Newton's method.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

One issue that arises with nonlinear conjugate gradient methods is when to restart them. As the search moves, the nature of the local quadratic approximation to the function may change substantially. The local convergence of the method depends on that of the linear conjugate gradient method, where the quadratic function is constant. With a constant quadratic function for n variables and an exact line search, the linear algorithm will converge in n or fewer iterations. By restarting (taking a steepest descent step with ) every so often, it is possible to eliminate information from previous points, which may not be relevant to the local quadratic model at the current search point. If you look carefully at the example, you can see where the method was restarted and a steepest descent step was taken. One option is to simply restart after every k iterations, where . You can specify this using the method option "RestartIterations"->k. An alternative is to restart when consecutive gradients are not sufficiently orthogonal according to the test

with a threshold ν between 0 and 1. You can specify this using the method option "RestartThreshold"->ν.

The table summarizes the options you can use with the conjugate gradient methods.

option name
default value
"Method""PolakRibiere"nonlinear conjugate gradient method can be or
"RestartThreshold"1/10threshold ν for gradient orthogonality below which a restart will be done
"RestartIterations"number of iterations after which to restart
"StepControl""LineSearch"must be , but you can use this to specify line search methods

Method options for Method->"ConjugateGradient".

It should be noted that the default method for FindMinimum in version 4 was a conjugate gradient method with a near exact line search. This has been maintained for legacy reasons and can be accessed by using the FindMinimum option Method->"Gradient". Typically, this will use more function and gradient evaluations than the newer Method->"ConjugateGradient", which itself often uses far more than the methods that the Wolfram Language currently uses as defaults.