信赖域方法

信赖域方法在当前搜索点附近具有一个区域,其中关于局部极小化的二次模型

信赖为正确的,并且步骤被选择留在该区域内. 在搜索的过程中,区域大小根据模型和实际函数计算的符合程度被修改.

非常典型地,信赖域采取的是一个满足 的椭圆. 是一个对角缩放(通常采用近似 Hessian 的对角),而 是信赖域半径,它在每个步骤被更新.

当基于二次模型的步骤本身位于信赖域之内的时候,那么就认为函数值在变小,因而采用这一步骤. 因此,正如线搜索方法中一样,步控制不会干涉算法在二次模型表现良好的极小值附近的收敛效果. 当基于二次模型的步骤位于信赖域之外时,则采用一个只到边界位置的步骤,以使得该步骤成为二次模型在信赖域边界处的近似极小化步骤.

一旦一个步骤 被选择,该函数就在新的点被计算,而实际函数值与通过二次模型预测所得到的值互相对照. 真正计算的是实际与预测减少量的比率.

如果 接近1,那么该二次模型是一个相当不错的预测器,该区域的大小可以扩大. 另一方面,如果 太小,则该区域的大小就要被降低. 当 低于某一阈值 时,该步骤被拒绝并重新计算. 您可以使用方法选项"AcceptableStepRatio"->η 控制这一阈值. 通常情况下, 是相当小的,以避免走向极小值的步骤也被拒绝. 然而,如果在一个点获取二次模型相当昂贵(例如,计算 Hessian 需要花费相对较长的时间),一个较大值的 将降低 Hessian 计算的次数,但是它可能增加函数计算的次数.

要开始信赖域算法,需要确定一个初始半径 . 默认情况下,Wolfram 语言使用基于受比较宽松的相对步长限制的模型(1) 的步骤的大小. 然而,在某些情况下,这可能使您离开您原来感兴趣的区域,所以您可以使用选项 指定一个初始半径 . 该选项在它的名字中包含 Scaled,因为信赖域半径使用了对角缩放 ,所以这不是一个绝对的步长.

这里加载一个包含一些功用函数的程序包.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
这里显示在搜索一个与Rosenbrock函数类似的函数的局部极小值的过程中,所采用的步骤和计算,用的是了利用信赖域步控制的牛顿法.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

该图示看起来很糟糕,因为搜索在如此大的区域上延伸,以致函数的精细结构不能在这样的尺度上真正看到.

这里显示了对同样函数的步骤和计算,但这里有一个限制了的初始信赖域半径 . 这里,搜索更接近初始条件,并且沿着狭谷进行.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

我们还可以使用选项 对信赖域半径设置一个整体上限,使得对任何步,.

由于在函数计算中数值舍入的问题,信赖域方法也可能在不够光滑的函数上遇到困难. 当函数不足够平滑的时候,信赖域的半径将持续减少. 最终,它将达到一个实际上值为零的点.

这里从 Optimization`UnconstrainedProblems` 程序包中以一种可以被 FindMinimum 求解的形式获得Freudenstein-Roth测试问题. (参见 "测试问题".)
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=
这里使用默认方法对函数寻找一个局部极小值. 在这种情况下的默认方法是(信赖域)Levenberg-Marquardt 方法,因为函数是一个平方和的形式.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

出现的提示信息表明,相对于搜索点的大小,信赖域的大小实际上已经变为零,所以所采取的步骤将效果甚微. 注:在某些平台上,由于机器运算的微小差异,该信息可能不会显示. 这是因为产生该信息的原因与数值的不确定性有关,这在不同的平台上可能产生不同的变化.

这里在最后找到的点沿着 方向画出变差函数图.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=

沿着一个方向的图使我们相当清楚为什么进一步的改进是不可能的. 在这种情况下 Levenberg-Marquardt 方法陷入困境的部分原因是收敛相对缓慢,因为残差在极小值处非零. 使用牛顿方法,收敛速度更快,完整的二次模型可以更好地估计步长,因此 FindMinimum 可以对默认容差得到满足更有信心.

In[52]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[52]=

下表总结了对于信赖域步骤控制的选项.     

选项名
默认值
"AcceptableStepRatio"1/10000阈值 ,使得当实际与预测减少量的比率 时,搜索移动到已计算的步骤
"MaxScaledStepSize",使得对于所有步骤,信赖域大小
"StartingScaledStepSize"Automatic初始信赖域大小

的方法选项.

Trust Region Methods

A trust region method has a region around the current search point, where the quadratic model

for local minimization is "trusted" to be correct and steps are chosen to stay within this region. The size of the region is modified during the search, based on how well the model agrees with actual function evaluations.

Very typically, the trust region is taken to be an ellipse such that . is a diagonal scaling (often taken from the diagonal of the approximate Hessian) and is the trust region radius, which is updated at each step.

When the step based on the quadratic model alone lies within the trust region, then, assuming the function value gets smaller, that step will be chosen. Thus, just as with line search methods, the step control does not interfere with the convergence of the algorithm near to a minimum where the quadratic model is good. When the step based on the quadratic model lies outside the trust region, a step just up to the boundary of the trust region is chosen, such that the step is an approximate minimizer of the quadratic model on the boundary of the trust region.

Once a step is chosen, the function is evaluated at the new point, and the actual function value is checked against the value predicted by the quadratic model. What is actually computed is the ratio of actual to predicted reduction.

If is close to 1, then the quadratic model is quite a good predictor and the region can be increased in size. On the other hand, if is too small, the region is decreased in size. When is below a threshold, , the step is rejected and recomputed. You can control this threshold with the method option "AcceptableStepRatio"->η. Typically the value of is quite small to avoid rejecting steps that would be progress toward a minimum. However, if obtaining the quadratic model at a point is quite expensive (e.g. evaluating the Hessian takes a relatively long time), a larger value of will reduce the number of Hessian evaluations, but it may increase the number of function evaluations.

To start the trust region algorithm, an initial radius needs to be determined. By default the Wolfram Language uses the size of the step based on the model (1) restricted by a fairly loose relative step size limit. However, in some cases, this may take you out of the region you are primarily interested in, so you can specify a starting radius using the option . The option contains Scaled in its name because the trust region radius works through the diagonal scaling , so this is not an absolute step size.

This loads a package that contains some utility functions.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
This shows the steps and evaluations taken during a search for a local minimum of a function similar to Rosenbrock's function, using Newton's method with trust region step control.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

The plot looks quite bad because the search has extended over such a large region that the fine structure of the function cannot really be seen on that scale.

This shows the steps and evaluations for the same function, but with a restricted initial trust region radius . Here the search stays much closer to the initial condition and follows the narrow valley.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

It is also possible to set an overall maximum bound for the trust region radius by using the option so that for any step, .

Trust region methods can also have difficulties with functions which are not smooth due to problems with numerical roundoff in the function computation. When the function is not sufficiently smooth, the radius of the trust region will keep getting reduced. Eventually, it will get to the point at which it is effectively zero.

This gets the FreudensteinRoth test problem from the Optimization`UnconstrainedProblems` package in a form where it can be solved by FindMinimum. (See "Test Problems".)
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=
This finds a local minimum for the function using the default method. The default method in this case is the (trust region) LevenbergMarquardt method, since the function is a sum of squares.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

The message means that the size of the trust region has become effectively zero relative to the size of the search point, so steps taken would have negligible effect. Note: On some platforms, due to subtle differences in machine arithmetic, the message may not show up. This is because the reasons leading to the message have to do with numerical uncertainty, which can vary between different platforms.

This makes a plot of the variation function along the direction at the final point found.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=

The plot along one direction makes it fairly clear why no more improvement is possible. Part of the reason the LevenbergMarquardt method gets into trouble in this situation is that convergence is relatively slow because the residual is nonzero at the minimum. With Newton's method, the convergence is faster, and the full quadratic model allows for a better estimate of step size, so that FindMinimum can have more confidence that the default tolerances have been satisfied.

In[52]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[52]=

The following table summarizes the options for controlling trust region step control.

option name
default value
"AcceptableStepRatio"1/10000the threshold , such that when the actual to prediction reduction , the search is moved to the computed step
"MaxScaledStepSize"the value , such that the trust region size for all steps
"StartingScaledStepSize"Automaticthe initial trust region size

Method options for .