基本对象

表达式

表达式(Expressions)是 Wolfram 语言中数据的主要类型.

表达式可以写成 的形式. 一般说来,对象 h 被认为是表达式的头部. 被称为表达式的元素. 头部和元素本身可能也是表达式.

表达式的各组成部分可以使用数字索引来指代. 头部索引为0;元素 索引为 i. Part[expr,i] 使用索引 i 给出 expr 的部. 负索引从尾部计算.

Part[expr,i1,i2,] 或者 Extract[expr,{i1,i2,}] 通过连续提取索引为 的子表达式的各组成部分,找到 expr 的相应的块. 如果用户把表达式当作树来考虑,索引就指明了当用户从树的根节点开始往下搜索的时候,在每个节点应该选择哪个分支.

通过给出由刚好 n 个索引组成的序列来指定的表达式的组成部分被定义为位于表达式中的第 n 层. 用户可以使用层来决定函数如 Map 的应用域. 第0层对应于整个表达式.

定义表达式的深度为用来指定表达式各部的最大索引数,并加上1. 负的层数 -n 指的是表达式的各部分都具有深度 n.

符号

符号(Symbols)是 Wolfram 语言中的基本已命名对象.

符号名必须是由字母、类字母形式和数字组成的序列,但开头不可以使用数字. 在 Wolfram 语言中,总是区分大写字母和小写字母的.

aaaaa用户定义的符号
Aaaaa系统定义的符号
$Aaaa全局或内部的系统定义的符号
aaaa$在作用域结构中重命名的符号
aa$nn在一个模块(module)中产生的唯一局部符号

符号名称的使用惯例.

重要的是所有系统定义的符号名称只包含英文字母、数字和 . 例外情况是 .

系统定义的符号名称按照惯例包含一个或更多个完整英文单词. 每个单词的第一个字母大写,并且这些单词被组合在一起.

一旦创建,Wolfram 语言中的普通字符便持续存在,除非使用 Remove 明确删除它. 然而,在作用域结构如 Module 中自动创建的符号具有属性 Temporary,该属性指明一旦它们不在任何表达式中出现时,将自动删除它们.

当创建一个新符号的时候,Wolfram 语言首先把任何赋给 $NewSymbol 的值应用于作为符号名的字符串,以及创建符号所在的上下文.

如果打开消息 General::newsym,那么 Wolfram 语言报告创建的新符号. 默认情况下,该消息被关闭. 不报告在作用域结构中自动创建的符号.

上下文

在 Wolfram 语言中的任何符号的全名包括两个部分:上下文和短名. 全名以 的形式给出. 上下文 可以包括与短名相同的字符. 它可能包含任何数目的上下文标记字符 ,并且必须使用上下文标记结束.

在一个 Wolfram 语言会话的任何位置,有一个现有上下文 $Context 和包含上下文列表的上下文搜索路径 $ContextPath. 在现有上下文或上下文搜索路径的上下文中的符号,可以通过只给出它们的短名来指定,如果它们没有被具有相同短名的其它符号所屏蔽的话.

name搜索 $ContextPath,接着是 $Context;如果必要的话,在 $Context 中创建
`name只搜索 $Context ;如果必要的话,在该位置创建
context`name只搜索 context;如果必要的话,在该位置创建
`context`name只搜索 ;如果必要的话,在该位置创建

用于不同符号规格的上下文.

使用 Wolfram 语言程序包,按照惯例,它与名称对应于程序包名的上下文相联系. 程序包通常使用 BeginPackageEndPackage 在合适的上下文中定义对象,并且把上下文加入到全局 $ContextPath 中. 对于任何在程序包中创建、但是在上下文搜索路径中被现存符号所屏蔽的符号,EndPackage 显示警告信息.

上下文仅当必须在符号显示的时候用来指定该符号时,才被包含在符号的显示形式中.

原子对象

Wolfram 语言中的所有表达式最终是由小数目的基本或原子对象类型组成.

这些对象具有可以用来作为类型标签的符号的头部. 这些对象包含原始数据,通常只能由面向特定对象类型的函数访问. 可以使用 Head 提取对象的头部,但是用户不可以直接提取它的其它各组成部分.

Symbol符号(使用 SymbolName 获取名称)
String字符字符串 (使用 Characters 获取字符)
Integer整数(使用 IntegerDigits 获取数字)
Real近似实数(使用 RealDigits 获取数字)
Rational有理数(使用 NumeratorDenominator 获取各部)
Complex复数(使用 ReIm 获取各部)

原子对象.

Wolfram 语言中的原子对象具有深度0,并且在使用 AtomQ 测试时,产生 True.

数字

Integer整数 nnnn
Real近似实数
Rational有理数
Complex复数 nnn+nnn I

数字的基本类型.

Wolfram 语言中的所有数字可以包含任意数目的数位. 当可能的情况下,Wolfram 语言对整数和有理数,以及实部和虚部都是整数或有理数的复数,进行计算.

在 Wolfram 语言中有两种近似实数的类型:任意精度(arbitrary precision)和机器精度(machine precision). 在处理任意精度数时,Wolfram 语言试图修改精度,以确保所有数位都是准确的.

使用机器精度数,所有的计算在相同的固定精度下实现,所以一些数位可能不是准确的.

除非特别指明,Wolfram 语言把所有位于 $MinMachineNumber$MaxMachineNumber 之间、并且输入小于 $MachinePrecision 数位的近似实数作为机器精度数处理.

InputForm 中,Wolfram 语言使用 $MachinePrecision 数位显示机器精度数,除了当尾随数字为零的情况.

在 Wolfram 语言的任意实现中,数的幅度(除了0)必须位于 $MinNumber$MaxNumber 之间. 幅度在此之外的数字由 Underflow[]Overflow[] 表示.

字符字符串

Wolfram 语言中的字符字符串可以包含任意字符序列. 它们以形式 输入.

单个字符可以是可显示的ASCII (字符码在32和126之间),或者一般说来,任意8位或16位字符. Wolfram 语言对16位字符使用Unicode字符编码.

在输入形式中,在可能的情况下,16位字符可以表示为形式 ,否则表示为 .

零(Null)字节可以出现在 Wolfram 语言字符串的任何位置.

Basic Objects

Expressions

Expressions are the main type of data in the Wolfram Language.

Expressions can be written in the form . The object h is known generically as the head of the expression. The are termed the elements of the expression. Both the head and the elements may themselves be expressions.

The parts of an expression can be referred to by numerical indices. The head has index 0; element has index i. Part[expr,i] or gives the part of expr with index i. Negative indices count from the end.

Part[expr,i1,i2,], , or Extract[expr,{i1,i2,}] gives the piece of expr found by successively extracting parts of subexpressions with indices . If you think of expressions as trees, the indices specify which branch to take at each node as you descend from the root.

The pieces of an expression that are specified by giving a sequence of exactly n indices are defined to be at level n in the expression. You can use levels to determine the domain of application of functions like Map. Level 0 corresponds to the whole expression.

The depth of an expression is defined to be the maximum number of indices needed to specify any part of the expression, plus one. A negative level number -n refers to all parts of an expression that have depth n.

Symbols

Symbols are the basic named objects in the Wolfram Language.

The name of a symbol must be a sequence of letters, letterlike forms, and digits, not starting with a digit. Uppercase and lowercase letters are always distinguished in the Wolfram Language.

aaaaauserdefined symbol
Aaaaasystemdefined symbol
$Aaaaglobal or internal systemdefined symbol
aaaa$symbol renamed in a scoping construct
aa$nnunique local symbol generated in a module

Conventions for symbol names.

Essentially all systemdefined symbols have names that contain only ordinary English letters, together with numbers and . The exceptions are , , , and .

Systemdefined symbols conventionally have names that consist of one or more complete English words. The first letter of each word is capitalized, and the words are run together.

Once created, an ordinary symbol in the Wolfram Language continues to exist unless it is explicitly removed using Remove. However, symbols created automatically in scoping constructs such as Module carry the attribute Temporary, which specifies that they should automatically be removed as soon as they no longer appear in any expression.

When a new symbol is to be created, the Wolfram Language first applies any value that has been assigned to $NewSymbol to strings giving the name of the symbol and the context in which the symbol would be created.

If the message General::newsym is switched on, then the Wolfram Language reports new symbols that are created. This message is switched off by default. Symbols created automatically in scoping constructs are not reported.

Contexts

The full name of any symbol in the Wolfram Language consists of two parts: a context and a short name. The full name is written in the form . The context can contain the same characters as the short name. It may also contain any number of context mark characters , and must end with a context mark.

At any point in a Wolfram Language session, there is a current context $Context and a context search path $ContextPath consisting of a list of contexts. Symbols in the current context, or in contexts on the context search path, can be specified by giving only their short names, provided they are not shadowed by another symbol with the same short name.

namesearch $ContextPath, then $Context; create in $Context if necessary
`namesearch $Context only; create there if necessary
context`namesearch context only; create there if necessary
`context`namesearch only; create there if necessary

Contexts used for various specifications of symbols.

With Wolfram Language packages, it is conventional to associate contexts whose names correspond to the names of the packages. Packages typically use BeginPackage and EndPackage to define objects in the appropriate context, and to add the context to the global $ContextPath. EndPackage prints a warning about any symbols that were created in a package but which are "shadowed" by existing symbols on the context search path.

The context is included in the printed form of a symbol only if it would be needed to specify the symbol at the time of printing.

Atomic Objects

All expressions in the Wolfram Language are ultimately made up from a small number of basic or atomic types of objects.

These objects have heads that are symbols that can be thought of as "tagging" their types. The objects contain "raw data", which can usually be accessed only by functions specific to the particular type of object. You can extract the head of the object using Head, but you cannot directly extract any of its other parts.

Symbolsymbol (extract name using SymbolName)
Stringcharacter string (extract characters using Characters)
Integerinteger (extract digits using IntegerDigits)
Realapproximate real number (extract digits using RealDigits)
Rationalrational number (extract parts using Numerator and Denominator)
Complexcomplex number (extract parts using Re and Im)

Atomic objects.

Atomic objects in the Wolfram Language are considered to have depth 0 and yield True when tested with AtomQ.

Numbers

Integerinteger nnnn
Realapproximate real number
Rationalrational number
Complexcomplex number nnn+nnn I

Basic types of numbers.

All numbers in the Wolfram Language can contain any number of digits. The Wolfram Language does exact computations when possible with integers and rational numbers, and with complex numbers whose real and imaginary parts are integers or rational numbers.

There are two types of approximate real numbers in the Wolfram Language: arbitrary precision and machine precision. In manipulating arbitraryprecision numbers, the Wolfram Language tries to modify the precision so as to ensure that all digits actually given are correct.

With machineprecision numbers, all computations are done to the same fixed precision, so some digits given may not be correct.

Unless otherwise specified, the Wolfram Language treats as machineprecision numbers all approximate real numbers that lie between $MinMachineNumber and $MaxMachineNumber and that are input with less than $MachinePrecision digits.

In InputForm, the Wolfram Language prints machineprecision numbers with $MachinePrecision digits, except when trailing digits are zero.

In any implementation of the Wolfram Language, the magnitudes of numbers (except 0) must lie between $MinNumber and $MaxNumber. Numbers with magnitudes outside this range are represented by Underflow[] and Overflow[].

Character Strings

Character strings in the Wolfram Language can contain any sequence of characters. They are input in the form .

The individual characters can be printable ASCII (with character codes between 32 and 126), or in general any 8 or 16bit characters. The Wolfram Language uses the Unicode character encoding for 16bit characters.

In input form, 16bit characters are represented when possible in the form , and otherwise as .

Null bytes can appear at any point within Wolfram Language strings.