无穷计算的控制

在计算表达式时,Wolfram 语言遵循的一般原则是将变换规则一直使用到表达式不再变化为止. 这意味着,当 Wolfram 语言进行 的赋值时将进入无穷循环. 但实际上,Wolfram 语言在有限步后就停止,这个步数由全局变量 $RecursionLimit 决定. 但总可以通过明确终止 Wolfram 语言提前结束它.

这个赋值可能导致无穷循环. Wolfram 语言在由 $RecursionLimit 决定的有限步后停止.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[1]=
当 Wolfram 语言没有计算完而停止时,它返回一个保持的结果,通过调用 ReleaseHold 可继续计算.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=
$RecursionLimit计算堆栈的最大深度
$IterationLimit计算链的最大长度

限制无穷计算的全局变量.

这是一个循环定义,它的计算由 $IterationLimit 停止.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

变量 $RecursionLimit$IterationLimit 以两种方式控制 Wolfram 语言中的无穷计算. $RecursionLimit 限制计算链的最大长度,或由 Trace 产生的列表结构中最大嵌套的深度. $IterationLimit 限制任何计算链的最大长度,或由 Trace 产生的结构列表的最大长度.

$RecursionLimit$IterationLimit 的默认值适合大部分计算和计算机系统. 可以重新设置它们为一个整数值或 Infinity. 但注意,在绝大部分计算机系统中,不要设置 $RecursionLimit=Infinity,正如 "内存管理" 所述.

这里将 $RecursionLimit$IterationLimit 设置为 .
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=
这里的无穷定义20步以后结束.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=
无结束条件时,这个递推定义将导致无穷计算.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
计算结束之前已形成了一个相当大的结构.
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
另一个递推定义.
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
在这里,没有形式复杂的结构,计算由 $IterationLimit 结束.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=

无穷循环不仅花费时间而且占用内存. 限制的计算 $IterationLimit 一般不产生大的中间结构. 但$RecursionLimit 常常产生大的中间结构. 一般情况下,结构的大小是 $RecursionLimit 值的线性函数. 但有时,也会随着 $RecursionLimit 指数级增长.

赋值如 显然是一个循环. 但在使用复杂的循环时,很难确认循环结束,或者不进入无限循环. 检查的主要方向是变换规则的左右两端总不相等. 这就保证了计算过程不断前进,Wolfram 语言就不停止变换规则的反复使用.

在使用复杂的 条件时会产生奇怪的现象(见 "限制模式" ). 特别糟糕的是涉及全局变量的改变. Wolfram 语言可能会认为由于表达式没有改变,所以计算已经结束. 然而,一些其它操作的副作用可能会改变全局变量的值,所以将导致计算中的新结果. 避免这个问题的最好方式是在 条件中不使用全局变量. 这也失败时,可用 Update[s] 去令 Wolfram 语言更新涉及 s 的所有表达式. Update[] 令 Wolfram 语言更新所有的表达式.

Controlling Infinite Evaluation

The general principle that the Wolfram Language follows in evaluating expressions is to go on applying transformation rules until the expressions no longer change. This means, for example, that if you make an assignment like , the Wolfram Language should go into an infinite loop. In fact, the Wolfram Language stops after a definite number of steps, determined by the value of the global variable $RecursionLimit. You can always stop the Wolfram Language earlier by explicitly interrupting it.

This assignment could cause an infinite loop. The Wolfram Language stops after a number of steps determined by $RecursionLimit.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[1]=
When the Wolfram Language stops without finishing evaluation, it returns a held result. You can continue the evaluation by explicitly calling ReleaseHold.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=
$RecursionLimitmaximum depth of the evaluation stack
$IterationLimitmaximum length of an evaluation chain

Global variables that limit infinite evaluation.

Here is a circular definition, whose evaluation is stopped by $IterationLimit.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

The variables $RecursionLimit and $IterationLimit control the two basic ways that an evaluation can become infinite in the Wolfram Language. $RecursionLimit limits the maximum depth of the evaluation stack, or equivalently, the maximum nesting depth that would occur in the list structure produced by Trace. $IterationLimit limits the maximum length of any particular evaluation chain, or the maximum length of any single list in the structure produced by Trace.

$RecursionLimit and $IterationLimit are by default set to values that are appropriate for most computations, and most computer systems. You can, however, reset these variables to any integer (above a lower limit), or to Infinity. Note that on most computer systems, you should never set $RecursionLimit=Infinity, as discussed in "Memory Management".

This resets $RecursionLimit and $IterationLimit to .
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=
Now infinite definitions like this are stopped after just 20 steps.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=
Without an end condition, this recursive definition leads to infinite computations.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
A fairly large structure is built up before the computation is stopped.
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
Here is another recursive definition.
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
In this case, no complicated structure is built up, and the computation is stopped by $IterationLimit.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=

It is important to realize that infinite loops can take up not only time but also computer memory. Computations limited by $IterationLimit do not normally build up large intermediate structures. But those limited by $RecursionLimit often do. In many cases, the size of the structures produced is a linear function of the value of $RecursionLimit. But in some cases, the size can grow exponentially, or worse, with $RecursionLimit.

An assignment like is obviously circular. When you set up more complicated recursive definitions, however, it can be much more difficult to be sure that the recursion terminates, and that you will not end up in an infinite loop. The main thing to check is that the righthand sides of your transformation rules will always be different from the lefthand sides. This ensures that evaluation will always "make progress", and the Wolfram Language will not simply end up applying the same transformation rule to the same expression over and over again.

Some of the trickiest cases occur when you have rules that depend on complicated conditions (see "Putting Constraints on Patterns"). One particularly awkward case is when the condition involves a "global variable". The Wolfram Language may think that the evaluation is finished because the expression did not change. However, a side effect of some other operation could change the value of the global variable, and so should lead to a new result in the evaluation. The best way to avoid this kind of difficulty is not to use global variables in conditions. If all else fails, you can type Update[s] to tell the Wolfram Language to update all expressions involving s. Update[] tells the Wolfram Language to update absolutely all expressions.