创建面板

面板如同键盘的延伸. 它们可以用来执行 Wolfram 语言中的许多操作,包括输入排版字符,对笔记本进行样式化处理以及进行各种计算. 如任何笔记本相同,可以使用菜单项创建面板,也可以通过编程创建面板.

CreatePalette[expr]在前端中,创建并且打开包含 expr 的一个面板笔记本
PaletteNotebook[{cell1,cell2,}]一个面板笔记本的单元内表示,前端可以对其进行操作
面板 把选择变成面板
在前端中,从当前选择创建一个面板笔记本

面板创建工具.

面板笔记本具有一个独特的属性. 它们可以是一个当前选中的笔记本,但是通常不能是一个 InputNotebook. 这使得面板可以在前端键盘输入所指向的笔记本上执行操作. 更多信息,请见 "通过内核操作笔记本".

通过编程生成一个面板

CreatePalette[expr] 创建一个包含 expr 的未保存面板笔记本,并且在一个不同的窗口打开. 如要保存这个面板,关闭该窗口,并且当保存对话框出现时保存该文件,或者利用 NotebookSave 通过程序保存该面板笔记本.

下面的面板利用 PasteButton 把字符粘贴到输入笔记本中. PasteButton 专门设计用于面板的使用. 它把内容直接粘贴到输入笔记本的插入点上. 当与 RawBoxes 一起使用时,PasteButton 会把未解释的框符粘贴到输入笔记本上.

另外一种途径是,利用 PaletteNotebook 创建一个面板笔记本的单元内表示. 通过点击 按钮或者在 PaletteNotebook 表达式外加上 CreatePalette,就可以在前端打开包含该笔记本的一个独立窗口.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

由于 RawBoxes[boxes] 只是在字面上插入 boxes 并未做进一步解释,该字符可以用作输入表达式或者文本单元的一部分使用.

Cell[BoxData["\<\"π\"\>"],"cellstyle"]已解释的框符结构
Cell[BoxData["π"],"cellstyle"]未解释的框符结构

框符结构比较.

输入单元:
Click for copyable input
文本单元:

π ° × ÷ ¬

如果把 "π" 的框符结构解释为面板中的一个字符串,那么无论该单元样式如何,前端会一直把 "π" 视为一个字符串处理.

输入单元:
Click for copyable input
文本单元:

"π"

下面的这个面板利用前端令牌把带有样式的单元插到正在使用的笔记本中. 前端令牌从内核执行原先通常使用菜单完成的前端命令. 对于前端令牌的一个完整列表,参见 "前端令牌".

下面的面板链接到 Wolfram Mathematica 参考资料中心,使得在输入笔记本中可以删除所有输出单元,并且也可以退出内核.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=

CreatePalette 用以创建某些 Wolfram 语言面板,包括 数学助手 面板.

把选择变成面板

面板也可以通过选择一个单元或者它的内容,然后选择 面板 把选择变成面板 来创建. 如要保存该面板,关闭窗口,并且在出现保存对话框时保存该文件.

例如,对于下面的网格,它把输入模板粘贴到输入笔记本中.

In[76]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[76]=

通过选择该网格并且选择 面板 把选择变成面板 来创建一个面板. 则在另一个不同的窗口中将会出现该未保存的面板.

5.gif

虽然这样做有时候对于临时使用或者做一些试验是有用的,但是这不是面板开发的最佳方式. 利用 CreatePalette,用户可以编写这样的程序:当运行这个程序的时候,面板的创建可以完全自动地生成. 菜单项要求手动干预,这容易产生错误. 如果用户想要修改面板或者更正程序错误,这可能导致创建的面板不容易重新创建.

完成并保存面板

默认情况下,CreatePalette面板 把选择变成面板 创建了一个带有各种选项集的笔记本,这样的选项集使得所产生的面板的外观和行为在典型意义上都是适当的. 然而,选项如 Magnification 也可能是有用的.

1.  若要通过编程设置这些选项,必须在一个 CreatePalette 语句中指定上述的每个选项. 例如:

CreatePalette[expr,Magnification->1.0,DynamicUpdating->True]

注意:只有当面板函数功能被完全调试好,并且处于即可使用的状态时,设置 DynamicUpdating->True 才能完成,因为这样做可以防止前端退出可能含有也可能不含有程序错误的一次动态计算.

2.  若要通过 选项设置 设置这些选项,选择面板并且打开 选项设置

笔记本选项 显示选项,明确设置 Magnification 以避免从全局设置继承缩放率.

单元选项 计算选项,明确设置 DynamicUpdating->True 以启用 Dynamic,即使动态更新在用户前端是禁用的.

如要保存该面板,点击面板窗口上的关闭按钮,您就可以得到提示信息,可以保存该面板或者利用 NotebookSave 通过编程保存该面板笔记本.

把面板安装到 Wolfram 语言中

一个面板必须安装到 PalettePath 上,这样它才能出现在主 面板 菜单中.

In[10]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[10]=

最简单的安装面板的方式是选择 面板 安装面板,提供源文件、面板名称和安装目录给 安装 Mathematica 项目 对话框,然后点击 完成.

面板也可以作为 Wolfram 语言应用程序的一部分安装. 若要对您的应用程序添加一个面板,可在应用程序文件夹中创建一个 FrontEnd\Palettes\ 目录,然后把该面板保存到该目录中. 例如,面板 MyPalette.nb 应该放置于MyApplication\FrontEnd\Palettes\ 中.

扩展范例

非独立启动开关视窗

Dynamic 的第二个变量可以用来控制一个相反的启动开关视窗的状态,以使得在任何给定的时间内只有一个视窗是开启的.

也可以利用 TaggingRules 跟踪并且控制面板状态. 与动态变量不同,前端自动对 TaggingRules 进行缓存,以使得安装好的面板可以在多个前端进程中记住各个控件对象的状态,即使不能保存它们. 本章节不专门讨论这个问题,在 "存储并跟踪面板状态" 中对此有详细讨论,并且还提供了一组范例.

应用并且计算函数

面板可以运行计算,并且把结果返回给一个笔记本.

In[17]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[17]=

考虑下面的多项式. 突出显示该表达式,并且从上面的面板中选择 Expand[]. Wolfram 语言将对选择的内容应用该函数,并在适当的位置计算所得的表达式.

应用该函数之前
Click for copyable input
应用该函数之后
Click for copyable input

Creating Palettes

Palettes are like extensions of your keyboard. They can be used to perform many actions in the Wolfram System, including entering typesetting characters, styling notebooks, and performing evaluations. As with any notebook, creating palettes can be done with a menu item or programmatically.

CreatePalette[expr]create and open a palette notebook containing expr in the front end
PaletteNotebook[{cell1,cell2,}]an in-cell representation of a palette notebook that can be manipulated by the front end
Palettes Generate Palette from Selection
create a palette notebook from the current selection in the front end

Palette creation tools.

Palette notebooks have a unique property. They can be a currently selected notebook but cannot normally be an InputNotebook. This allows the palette to perform operations on the notebook into which keyboard input in the front end is directed. See "Manipulating Notebooks from the Kernel" for further information.

Generating a Palette Programmatically

CreatePalette[expr] creates an unsaved palette notebook containing expr and opens it in a separate window. To save the palette, close the window and save the file when the save dialog appears or save the palette notebook programmatically using NotebookSave.

Below is a palette that uses PasteButton to paste characters into the input notebook. PasteButton is specifically designed to work with palettes. It pastes its contents directly into the input notebook at the insertion point. When used in conjunction with RawBoxes, PasteButton will paste uninterpreted boxes into the input notebook.

Alternatively, use PaletteNotebook to create an in-cell representation of a palette notebook. A separate window containing the notebook can be opened in the front end by clicking the button or wrapping CreatePalette around the PaletteNotebook expression.

In[40]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[40]=

Since RawBoxes[boxes] inserts boxes verbatim without further interpretation, the characters can be used as part of an input expression or textual cell.

Cell[BoxData["\<\"π\"\>"],"cellstyle"]interpreted box structure
Cell[BoxData["π"],"cellstyle"]uninterpreted box structure

Box structure comparisons.

Input Cell:
Click for copyable input
Text Cell:

π ° × ÷ ¬

If the box structure for "π" is interpreted as a string in the palette, then regardless of the cell style, the front end will always treat "π" as a string.

Input Cell:
Click for copyable input
Text Cell:

"π"

This next palette inserts styled cells into the active notebook using front end tokens. Front end tokens perform front end commands from within the kernel that would normally be done using the menus. For a complete listing of front end tokens, see "Front End Tokens".

The palette below links to the Wolfram Language Documentation Center, allows the deletion of all output cells in the input notebook, and can also quit the kernel.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=

CreatePalette was used to create several Wolfram System palettes, including the Basic Math Assistant palette.

4.gif

Generating a Palette from a Selection

Palettes can also be created by selecting a cell or its contents and choosing Palettes Generate Palette from Selection. To save the palette, close the window and save the file when the save dialog appears.

For example, consider the grid below, which pastes input templates into the input notebook.

In[76]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[76]=

Create a palette by selecting the grid and choosing Palettes Generate Palette from Selection. The unsaved palette will appear in a separate window.

5.gif

Although this can sometimes be useful for temporary or experimental purposes, this is not the best method for palette development. Using CreatePalette allows you to write a program that, when evaluated, can fully automate the creation of palettes. The menu item requires manual intervention, which can be subject to errors. This can lead to the creation of palettes that will be difficult to recreate if you wish to tweak them or fix bugs in them.

Finalizing and Saving the Palette

CreatePalette and Palettes Generate Palette from Selection by default create a notebook with options set so as to be suitable for the appearance and behavior of a typical palette. However, options such as Magnification and may also be useful.

1.  To set these options programmatically, specify each of the options above in a CreatePalette statement. For example:

CreatePalette[expr,Magnification->1.0,DynamicUpdating->True]

Note: Setting DynamicUpdating->True should only be done when the palette functionality has been completely debugged and is in a ready-to-use state, as this prevents the front end from aborting a dynamic evaluation that may or may not contain bugs.

2.  To set these options using the Option Inspector, select the palette and open the Option Inspector:

In Notebook Options Display Options, explicitly set Magnification to avoid inheriting the global setting.

In Cell Options Evaluation Options, explicitly set DynamicUpdating->True to enable Dynamic even if dynamic updating is disabled in the user's front end.

To save the palette, click the close button in the palette window and you will be prompted to save the palette or save the palette notebook programmatically using NotebookSave.

Installing the Palette into the Wolfram System

A palette must be installed on the PalettePath for it to appear in the main Palettes menu.

In[10]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[10]=

The simplest way install a palette is to choose Palettes Install Palette, provide the source file, palette name, and installation directory to the Install Mathematica Item dialog, and click Finish.

7.gif

Palettes can also be installed as part of a Wolfram System application. To add a palette to your application, create a FrontEnd\Palettes\ directory within the application folder and save the palette to this location. For example, the palette MyPalette.nb would be placed in MyApplication\FrontEnd\Palettes\.

Extended Examples

Dependent Opener Views

The second argument of Dynamic can be used to control the state of an opposite opener view so that only one remains open at any given time.

Palette states can also be tracked and controlled using TaggingRules. Unlike dynamic variables, TaggingRules are automatically cached by the front end so that installed palettes can remember their control object states across multiple front end sessions, even if they cannot be saved. This topic is beyond the scope of this document, but a detailed discussion and set of examples can be found in "Storing and Tracking Palette States".

Applying and Evaluating Functions

Palettes can run evaluations and return the results to a notebook.

In[17]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[17]=

Consider the following polynomial. Highlight the expression and choose Expand[] from the palette above. The Wolfram Language will apply the function to the selection and evaluate the resulting expression in place.

Before
Click for copyable input
After
Click for copyable input