AutoCopy

AutoCopy

is an option for notebooks and cloud objects that specifies whether to automatically make a copy when the object is opened.

Details

  • Possible settings include:
  • Truealways create and open a copy
    Falseopen the object itself
  • In the cloud, autocopied notebooks maintain their original title when they are opened by a user other than their creator, and are given UUIDs as names when they are opened by their creator.
  • In the cloud, an autocopied notebook has permissions determined by $Permissions, independent of the permissions for the original notebook.
  • In the cloud, opening an autocopied notebook from an untrusted owner requires additional user interaction: the user can give a one-time authorization to copy the notebook and can indicate to always trust the owner.

Examples

Basic Examples  (1)

Deploy a public notebook to a named cloud object:

Set the AutoCopy option to True:

Open this cloud object for editing in the cloud and click the link "Create a copy of this file" to make a copy:

Introduced in 2016
 (11.0)