is an option for Cell which specifies whether a label for the cell should be automatically deleted if the contents of the cell are modified or the notebook containing the cell is saved in a file.
- CellLabelAutoDelete->Automatic indicates that labels should only be deleted if the cell is modified. Unmodified cells that are saved to a file will preserve their cell labels.
- Cell styles that represent Wolfram System input and output typically have CellLabelAutoDelete->True.
- CellLabelAutoDelete is more often set for styles of cells than for individual cells.
Basic Examples (1)
Create a notebook with the setting CellLabelAutoDelete->True:
When inputs are evaluated, cell labels are attached to the input and output cells:
If you edit a previously evaluated input cell, its cell label is cleared:
When the notebook is saved, cell labels are automatically deleted:
Close the saved notebook:
When the notebook is reopened, no cell labels are present:
Close the notebook again and delete the temporary file:
Introduced in 1996
Updated in 2018