三维图形的坐标系

Mathematica 画三维图形时, 总要在外边加一个立方盒. 在默认设置 Boxed->True 下, Mathematica 会画出盒子的边缘. 但一般情况下, Mathematica 会自动擦去该立方盒之外的任何部分.

选项 PlotRange 指定 Mathematica 应该包括在盒内 , 坐标的范围. 与二维时相同, 默认设置是 PlotRange->Automatic, 它令 Mathematica 用内部算法尽量包含图形中"令人感兴趣"的部分, 而擦掉外围部分. 使用 PlotRange->All, 令 Mathematica 包含所有部分.

调入一个包含各种多面体的程序包.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
这里产生一个星状的20面体.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
这里显示该星状的20面体, 将其画在立方盒中.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=
通过设置 PlotRange, 这个星状20面体的许多部分由于位于立方盒之外而被擦去.
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=

与二维情况类似, 可以使用 "原始" 或 "尺度" 坐标在三维对象中确定元素的位置. 由 Scaled[{sx, sy, sz}] 确定的尺度坐标, 在每一个方向上的取值范围是从0到1.坐标系在盒子上为右手系.

{x,y,z}原始坐标
Scaled[{sx,sy,sz}]尺度坐标,各维变化范围为0到1

三维对象的坐标系.

在立方盒的一个顶点上放一个立方体.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

在指出各种图形基元应放在盒子内的什么位置后, 必须告诉 Mathematica 如何画出盒子. 第一步是确定盒子的形状. 这一步与确定二维图形的纵横比类似. 在三维情形中, 可以使用 BoxRatios 指定盒子边长的比例. 对于 Graphics3D 对象, 默认设置是 BoxRatios->Automatic, 它使得盒子的形状根据盒子内元素的具体坐标范围来确定.

BoxRatios->{xr,yr,zr}指定盒子的边长比
BoxRatios->Automatic从实际坐标范围确定边长比 (Graphics3D 的默认值)

指定三维对象边界盒的形状.

在一个长盒子中显示星状20面体.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=

产生三维图像时, 必须告诉 Mathematica 是从哪一个方位来观察对象, 这需要可以使用 ViewPoint 选项.

"三维曲面绘图" 一节中已经给出了这个选项的常用设置. 然而通常可以让 Mathematica 取任意视点.

视点用 ViewPoint->{sx, sy, sz} 指定. si 的值用一个特殊的坐标系给出, 该坐标系的原点在盒子的中心 , 而将盒子最长的一个边作为一个单位来度量, 盒子的其它边长由选项 BoxRatios 的设置确定. 对一个正立方盒子而言, 每个边的坐标都是从 变化. 要注意视点总在盒子之外.

用默认视点 产生一个图形.
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
这是视点接近盒子的一个顶点时得到的图形.
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[8]=
当离盒子较远时,透视效果变小.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=
选项名称
默认值
ViewPoint{1.3,-2.4,2}尺度坐标系中的观察点
ViewCenterAutomatic尺度坐标系中出现在最终图形中心的点
ViewVertical{0,0,1}尺度坐标系中出现在最终图形中的竖直方向
ViewAngleAutomatic模拟相机用于观察图形的开放半角
ViewVectorAutomatic模拟相机在图形常规坐标系中的位置和方向

三维对象的位置和定向设置.

建立三维图形不仅需要指定观察位置, 还需要指定如何给最终图形加边框. 这用选项 ViewCenterViewVerticalViewAngle 来实现.

ViewCenter 允许用户告诉 Mathematica 对象的哪一点应该在最终图形的中心. 这一点由尺度坐标给出,各方向盒子的边从0到1变化. 用 ViewCenter->{1/2, 1/2, 1/2}, 盒子的中心将出现在最终图形的中心. 由于不同视点的选择, 盒子不一定对称, 盒子的中心不一定在最终图形的中心. 可以用 ViewCenter->Automatic 使盒子中心在最终图形区域的中心.

ViewVertical 指定对象的哪一个方位应该在最终图形中指向上方. ViewVertical 用尺度坐标指出那一个方向应该在最终图形上竖直向上. 默认设置 ViewVertical->{0, 0, 1},使得原始坐标的 方向在最终图形中总是竖直向上.

Mathematica 利用模拟相机的性能来对最终图像制造视觉影象. 对象的位置, 观察的取向, 以及相机的朝向由选项 ViewCenterViewVerticalViewPoint 来确定. 选项 ViewAngle 指定相机镜头的开放宽度. 选项ViewAngle 用弧度指定相机观测到的从 ViewPointViewCenter 的线的最大角度. 有效视角是 ViewAngle 值的两倍. 这表明 ViewAngle 可以有效地对图像某一部分进行放大. ViewAngle 的默认值是35°, 这是人眼的通常视角.

ViewVertical 的这种设置使盒子的 轴方向在图形上竖直向上.
In[10]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[10]=
这里使用 ViewAngle 有效地对图像中心进行放大.
In[11]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[11]=

设置选项 ViewPointViewCenterViewVertical, 也就是确定怎样观察一个物理对象. ViewPoint 确定头相对于对象的位置. ViewCenter 确定观察位置. ViewVertical 确定头向上的方式.

用坐标系的术语来说,设置 ViewPointViewCenterViewVertical 就是确定如何把盒子上的三维坐标转换为最终显示区域中图形的坐标.

ViewVector->Automatic使用 ViewPointViewCenter 选项的值确定模拟相机的位置和朝向
ViewVector->{x,y,z}对象所用相机在坐标系中的位置; 相机的朝向由 ViewCenter 选项决定
ViewVector->{{x,y,z},{tx,ty,tz}}对象所用相机在坐标系中的位置及相机的焦点

选项 ViewVector 的可能值.

相机的位置和朝向可完全由选项 ViewPointViewCenter 确定, 但选项 ViewVector 提供了一个有用的推广. 不是用尺度坐标给出相机的位置和朝向, ViewVector 使用与定位图形内部对象相同的坐标系对相机进行定位.

这里指定相机被放置在 轴的负方向, 朝向图形中心.
In[12]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[12]=
相机位置相同但指向不同方向. 与 ViewAngle 配合使用, 这里对图形某一部分进行放大.
In[13]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[13]=

当获得了三维对象的二维映像后, 还存在如何生成图像的问题, 这与二维图形中的问题相同. 例如, 可以通过改变纵横比AspectRatio 来修改图形的最终形状, 通过设置选项 PlotRegion 来指定图形的整个显示区域.

drag围绕中心旋转图形
Ctrl+drag放大或缩小图形
Shift+drag在显示屏的平面上平移图形

与三维图形交互的鼠标操作方式.

交互性的修改图形时, Mathematica 对这些观察选项做出改变. 如果用户用 ViewPoint指定了相机的位置, 旋转图形会使 Mathematica 改变选项 ViewPoint 的值. 如果相机的位置由 ViewVector 指定, 旋转图形则会改变这个选项的值. 两种情况下, 图形的旋转都会影响选项 ViewVertical 的值. 交互性的对图形放大和收缩则会直接影响到选项 ViewAngle. 交互性的平移图形改变的是选项 ViewCenter 的值.

这样改变最终图像的纵横比.
In[14]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[14]=

Mathematica 通常缩放三维对象的图形, 使其在给定的显示区域中尽可能大. 尽管在大部分情况下这正是用户所需要的, 但会产生一个所画出的三维对象的尺寸会随着定位不同而变化的结果. 可以通过设置选项SphericalRegion->True 来避免出现这种变化. 在这种设置下, Mathematica 在三维边界盒子外侧放一个球面, 并调整最后的图形使得整个球面在所指定的显示区域之内. 这个球面的中心与边界盒子的中心重合, 并且恰好把边界盒子放在球面内.

这里画出了一个拉长的图形.
In[15]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[15]=
使用 SphericalRegion->True, 调整最后的图像使得边界盒外的球面整个落在显示区域内.
In[16]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[16]=

通过设置 SphericalRegion->True 可以使一个对象的调整和这个对象的所有定位相一致, 这对产生同一对象不同定位的动态序列是很有用的.

SphericalRegion->False调整三维图像使其尽可能大
SphericalRegion->True调整图像,使边界盒外面的球面能全部位于最终显示区域内

三维图像的放大倍率.

New to Mathematica? Find your learning path »
Have a question? Ask support »

Coordinate Systems for Three-Dimensional Graphics

Whenever Mathematica draws a three-dimensional object, it always effectively puts a cuboidal box around the object. With the default option setting Boxed->True, Mathematica in fact draws the edges of this box explicitly. But in general, Mathematica automatically "clips" any parts of your object that extend outside of the cuboidal box.

The option PlotRange specifies the range of , , and coordinates that Mathematica should include in the box. As in two dimensions the default setting is PlotRange->Automatic, which makes Mathematica use an internal algorithm to try and include the "interesting parts" of a plot, but drop outlying parts. With PlotRange->All, Mathematica will include all parts.

This loads a package defining polyhedron operations.
In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
This creates a stellated icosahedron.
In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
This shows the stellated icosahedron, drawn in a box.
In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=
With this setting for PlotRange, many parts of the stellated icosahedron lie outside the box, and are clipped.
In[4]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[4]=

Much as in two dimensions, you can use either "original" or "scaled" coordinates to specify the positions of elements in three-dimensional objects. Scaled coordinates, specified as Scaled[{sx, sy, sz}] are taken to run from 0 to 1 in each dimension. The coordinates are set up to define a right-handed coordinate system on the box.

{x,y,z}original coordinates
Scaled[{sx,sy,sz}]scaled coordinates, running from 0 to 1 in each dimension

Coordinate systems for three-dimensional objects.

This puts a cuboid in one corner of the box.
In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

Once you have specified where various graphical elements go inside a three-dimensional box, you must then tell Mathematica how to draw the box. The first step is to specify what shape the box should be. This is analogous to specifying the aspect ratio of a two-dimensional plot. In three dimensions, you can use the option BoxRatios to specify the ratio of side lengths for the box. For Graphics3D objects, the default is BoxRatios->Automatic, specifying that the shape of the box should be determined from the ranges of actual coordinates for its contents.

BoxRatios->{xr,yr,zr}specify the ratio of side lengths for the box
BoxRatios->Automaticdetermine the ratio of side lengths from the range of actual coordinates (default for Graphics3D)

Specifying the shape of the bounding box for three-dimensional objects.

This displays the stellated icosahedron in a tall box.
In[6]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[6]=

To produce an image of a three-dimensional object, you have to tell Mathematica from what view point you want to look at the object. You can do this using the option ViewPoint.

Some common settings for this option were given in "Three-Dimensional Surface Plots". In general, however, you can tell Mathematica to use any view point.

View points are specified in the form ViewPoint->{sx, sy, sz}. The values si are given in a special coordinate system, in which the center of the box is . The special coordinates are scaled so that the longest side of the box corresponds to one unit. The lengths of the other sides of the box in this coordinate system are determined by the setting for the BoxRatios option. For a cubical box, therefore, each of the special coordinates runs from to across the box. Note that the view point must always lie outside the box.

This generates a picture using the default view point .
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=
This is what you get with a view point close to one of the corners of the box.
In[8]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[8]=
As you move away from the box, the perspective effect gets smaller.
In[9]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[9]=
option name
default value
ViewPoint{1.3,-2.4,2}the point in a special scaled coordinate system from which to view the object
ViewCenterAutomaticthe point in the scaled coordinate system that appears at the center of the final image
ViewVertical{0,0,1}the direction in the scaled coordinate system that appears as vertical in the final image
ViewAngleAutomaticthe opening half-angle for a simulated camera used to view the graphic
ViewVectorAutomaticthe position and direction of the simulated camera in the graphic's regular coordinate system

Specifying the position and orientation of three-dimensional objects.

In making a picture of a three-dimensional object you have to specify more than just where you want to look at the object from. You also have to specify how you want to "frame" the object in your final image. You can do this using the additional options ViewCenter, ViewVertical, and ViewAngle.

ViewCenter allows you to tell Mathematica what point in the object should appear at the center of your final image. The point is specified by giving its scaled coordinates, running from 0 to 1 in each direction across the box. With the setting ViewCenter->{1/2, 1/2, 1/2}, the center of the box will therefore appear at the center of your final image. With many choices of view point, however, the box will not appear symmetrical, so this setting for ViewCenter will not center the whole box in the final image area. You can do this by setting ViewCenter->Automatic.

ViewVertical specifies which way up the object should appear in your final image. The setting for ViewVertical gives the direction in scaled coordinates which ends up vertical in the final image. With the default setting ViewVertical->{0, 0, 1}, the direction in your original coordinate system always ends up vertical in the final image.

Mathematica uses the properties of a simulated camera to visualize the final image. The position, orientation, and facing of the camera are determined by the ViewCenter, ViewVertical, and ViewPoint options. The ViewAngle option specifies the width of the opening of the camera lens. The ViewAngle specifies, in radians, the maximum angle from the line stretching from the ViewPoint to the ViewCenter that can be viewed by the camera. The effective viewing angle is double the value of ViewAngle. This means that ViewAngle can effectively be used to zoom in on a part of the image. The default value of ViewAngle resolves to 35°, which is the typical viewing angle for the human eye.

This setting for ViewVertical makes the axis of the box appear vertical in your image.
In[10]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[10]=
This uses ViewAngle to effectively zoom in on the center of the image.
In[11]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[11]=

When you set the options ViewPoint, ViewCenter, and ViewVertical, you can think about it as specifying how you would look at a physical object. ViewPoint specifies where your head is relative to the object. ViewCenter specifies where you are looking (the center of your gaze). And ViewVertical specifies which way up your head is.

In terms of coordinate systems, settings for ViewPoint, ViewCenter, and ViewVertical specify how coordinates in the three-dimensional box should be transformed into coordinates for your image in the final display area.

ViewVector->Automaticuses the values of the ViewPoint and ViewCenter options to determine the position and facing of the simulated camera
ViewVector->{x,y,z}position of the camera in the coordinates used for objects; the facing of the camera is determined by the ViewCenter option
ViewVector->{{x,y,z},{tx,ty,tz}}position of the camera and of the point the camera is focused on in the coordinates used for objects

Possible values of the ViewVector option.

The position and facing of the camera can be fully determined by the ViewPoint and ViewCenter options, but the ViewVector option offers a useful generalization. Instead of specifying the position and facing of the camera using scaled coordinates, ViewVector provides the ability to position the camera using the same coordinate system used to position objects within the graphic.

This specifies that the camera should be placed on the negative axis and facing toward the center of the graphic.
In[12]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[12]=
The camera is in the same position but pointing in a different direction. In combination with ViewAngle, this zooms in on a particular section of the graphic.
In[13]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[13]=

Once you have obtained a two-dimensional image of a three-dimensional object, there are still some issues about how this image should be rendered. The issues however are identical to those that occur for two-dimensional graphics. Thus, for example, you can modify the final shape of your image by changing the AspectRatio option. And you specify what region of your whole display area your image should take up by setting the PlotRegion option.

dragrotate the graphic about its center
Ctrl+dragzoom into or out of the graphic
Shift+dragpan across the graphic in the plane of the screen

Mouse gestures used for interacting with three-dimensional graphics.

When interactively modifying graphics, Mathematica makes changes to the view options. If you have specified the position of the camera using ViewPoint, then rotating the graphic causes Mathematica to change the value of the ViewPoint option. If the position of the camera is specified using ViewVector, interactive rotation will instead change the value of that option. In both cases, interactive rotation can also affect the value of the ViewVertical option. Interactive zooming of the graphic corresponds directly to changing the ViewAngle option. Interactively panning the graphic changes values of the ViewCenter option.

This modifies the aspect ratio of the final image.
In[14]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[14]=

Mathematica usually scales the images of three-dimensional objects to be as large as possible, given the display area you specify. Although in most cases this scaling is what you want, it does have the consequence that the size at which a particular three-dimensional object is drawn may vary with the orientation of the object. You can set the option SphericalRegion->True to avoid such variation. With this option setting, Mathematica effectively puts a sphere around the three-dimensional bounding box, and scales the final image so that the whole of this sphere fits inside the display area you specify. The sphere has its center at the center of the bounding box, and is drawn so that the bounding box just fits inside it.

This draws a rather elongated version of the plot.
In[15]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[15]=
With SphericalRegion->True, the final image is scaled so that a sphere placed around the bounding box would fit in the display area.
In[16]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[16]=

By setting SphericalRegion->True, you can make the scaling of an object consistent for all orientations of the object. This is useful if you create animated sequences which show a particular object in several different orientations.

SphericalRegion->Falsescale three-dimensional images to be as large as possible
SphericalRegion->Truescale images so that a sphere drawn around the three-dimensional bounding box would fit in the final display area

Changing the magnification of three-dimensional images.

New to Mathematica? Find your learning path »
Have a question? Ask support »