格式化输出

自从版本3以来,Mathematica 提供了对任意数学排版和布局的有力支持. 这一切基于所谓的框符语言box language),它允许笔记本自身作为 Mathematica 的表达式. 这种方法被证明是非常强大的,并已形成 Mathematica 中许多独特功能的基础. 但尽管这种框符语言非常强大,在实际操作时却很难被用户直接使用.

自从版本6开始,出现了这种框符语言的高层界面,这免去了直接使用框符的苦恼,却仍保持了同样的排版和布局的强大功能. 这个新层的函数被称为框符生成器,但用户不必意识到框符语言就能够有效使用这些函数. 在本节教程中,我们首先了解一下与显示大量表达式相关的框符生成器,然后再介绍几种超出了简单数学排版的方式,这些方式能用于生成漂亮的格式化输出.

样式化输出(Styling Output)

Mathematica 前端支持文字处理器中出现的所有惯用样式机制,例如包括变换字体特征的菜单. 然而,在生成的结果中自动访问这些样式机制曾经非常困难. 输出继续采用纯12号 Courier 字体(或使用 TraditionalForm 时为 Times 字体). 为了解决这个问题,创建了函数 Style. 无论何时对一个 Style 表达式进行计算,其输出结果将以给定的样式特征显示 .

可以将任何表达式封装 Style. 下面这个例子通过 Style 选用不同的字体灰度和颜色对质数和合数进行显示.

In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[1]=

有上百种格式化选项可以与 Style 结合使用(更完整的列表请参见关于 Style 的参考资料),此处列出的是最常见的几个选项.

菜单
Style[] 选项
Style[] 指令
格式 ► 尺寸 ► 14FontSize->1414
格式 ► 字体颜色 ► 灰色FontColor->GrayGray
格式 ► 字体效果 ► 粗体FontWeight->BoldBold
格式 ► 字体效果 ► 斜体FontSlant->ItalicItalic
格式 ► 背景颜色 ► 黄色Background->Yellow
格式 ► 字体FontFamily->"Times"
格式 ► 样式 ► Subsection"Subsection"

Style 可以被任意嵌套,在有冲突时最内层具有最高的优先权. 这里用 Style 封装整个列表从而对列表中的所有元素应用一种新的字体.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

要求一段输出的样式与文本一样也是很常见的. 将代码所用的字体用于文本可能会看上去非常奇怪. 为此,有一个函数 Text 能够使其参数将永远在文本字体中呈现.(熟悉 Mathematica 数学图形的用户将把 Text 函数识别为一个图形基元,但那种用法并不会与这种用法冲突.)

In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

Style 可用于屏幕上任何选项被激活处的区域设置,不仅仅是与字体相关的选项. 在本节教程的后面,可以看到 Style 如何影响如 GridTooltip 等其它格式结构的显示特征.

网格布局(Grid Layout)

二维布局结构的使用可以如对这些结构应用样式指令一样有用. 在 Mathematica 中,这种布局的基本函数是 Grid. Grid 的布局功能很灵活,能够任意调整对齐方式,框架元素(frame elements),以及跨度元素(spanning element)等. (其它教程更深入地介绍了 Grid 的功能,这里仅介绍讨论其重点部分.)

再次观察将质数和合数进行不同显示的 Style 例子.

In[11]:=
Click for copyable input

要将此放入一个 Grid 中,首先使用 Partition 将这个含有100个元素的列表转换成一个10×10数组. 尽管可以给 Grid 一个参差不齐的的阵列(列表中的元素为长度不一的列表),在这个例子中我们给 Grid 一个常规数组,且所得到的显示结果经过了漂亮的格式化布局.

Click for copyable input

注意到各列按中心对齐,且无框架线,使用 Grid 的选项可以很容易的改变这两项的设置.

Click for copyable input

对于全体 Grid 选项及其语法的完整描述超出了本文的范围,但使用它们完成一些不寻常的任务是可能的. 全部细节参见完全的 Grid 参考资料.

有几项与 Grid 相关的有用的结构,其中一个是 Column,它可以取出一列水平的元素将其垂直排列. 用 Grid 完成这一任务会稍显笨拙. 这里是一个简单的例子,可以将一列选项按列显示.

Click for copyable input

如何水平列出一列事物呢? 那种情况下,你要问的主要的问题是,是否要得到的显示像一行数字或文本一样换行,还是要所有元素保持在一行. 在后一种情况,可以将 Grid 应用于1×n 的阵列.

In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

但注意到在这个例子中,整个网格收缩,以便它与现有窗口的宽度适合. 因此网格中有的元素自身能够进行多行换行. 这是由于 Grid 的默认 ItemSize 选项. 如果想要允许一个网格的元素具有自然宽度,要将 ItemSize 设置为 Full.

In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=

当然,这时整个网格过宽而不能在一行中被容纳(除非将这个窗口设置的很宽),因此网格中有的元素无法被看到. 这把我们带到另一种横向布局函数:Row.

给定元素的列表,Row 将使整体结果按自然方式自动换行,就像一个文本行或数学行一样. 曾经可能使用过现已废弃的 SequenceForm 函数的用户会对这种类型的布局比较熟悉.

Click for copyable input

正如您所看到的, 默认时 Row 不在元素间留空格. 但若给出第二个参数,则表达式将被插入元素之间. 可以使用任何形式的表达式,此处用的是一个逗号.

Click for copyable input

如果调整笔记本窗口的尺寸,将看到设置为 ItemSize->Automatic 时的 Grid 其行为仍与 Row 不同,每一个在不同的情形中都有用.

将输出用作输入

这是一个很好的机会来指出 StyleGrid 及其它框符生成器在输出中是持久的. 如果所取的一段输出中的某些格式是由 Style 或者 Grid 创建并作为输入被再次使用,则 StyleGrid 表达式将在输入表达式中出现. 对 StyleBox 的旧用法甚至是对 MatrixForm 函数熟悉的用户将会发现这一改变.

将这个具有许多嵌入样式的 Grid 命令的输出用作某个输入表达式.

In[17]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[17]=
In[18]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[18]=

请注意这仍然是一个网格,仍是蓝色的,其元素仍然像以前一样为粗体或灰色. 还要注意,表达式中有 GridStyle 起到了干预效果,否则会给一个矩阵添加一个标量,并将结果进行乘幂. 这种区分是非常重要的,因为往往希望不要将这些复合结构以某种方式自动解释. 但是若想摆脱这些封装并获得你的数据,这也是很容易做到的.

In[19]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[19]=

特殊网格条目(Special Grid Entries)

为了让二维布局更灵活,Grid 接受 SpanFromLeft 等一些特殊符号作为条目. 条目 SpanFromLeft 表明,紧靠左边的网格条目既占用自己的空间也占用跨越字符的空间. 类似的还有 SpanFromAboveSpanFromBoth. 详细信息请参见 "Mathematica 中的网格、行和列" 一节.

Click for copyable input

这种方法可以用来创建复杂的跨度设置. 用键盘进行下列输入需要很长的时间. 幸运的是,您可以在 插入 ► 表格/矩阵 子菜单中使用 合并 分开 交互地创建此表. 如果想看看进行下述输入时会牵连到什么,则需要计算该单元,它将向您展示应如何进行键盘输入.

In[18]:=
Click for copyable input

我们已经看到了如何作为一个整体或针对个别列或行,在网格中进行对齐方式和背景的设置. 我们还没有看到的是如何针对单个元素对设置进行覆盖. 假设您希望您的整个网格中除一些特殊元素外都有相同的背景,一个方便的方法将每一个这种元素封装在 Item 中,然后指定 Item 的选项,覆盖 Grid 中相应的选项.

Click for copyable input

也可以通过 Style 来覆盖该选项,但 Item 的目的是使覆盖的方式知道Grid 的二维布局. 注意到在前面的输出中,一旦两个黄色单元彼此相邻,则两者之间没有蓝色空格,这只能通过 Item 实现.

不仅仅是 Background,对于 Item 的所有选项均是如此. 现在来看 Frame 选项,如果只想在某些特定元素周围加框架,而其它部位不加,您很可能认为必须在这些元素自己的 Grid 中进行 Frame->True 的设置来完成.(在下一小节中我们将学习一种更简单的方法来给任意一个表达式加框架.)

Click for copyable input

但请注意相邻框架元素不分享它们的边界. 相比之下,下面使用 Item,有足够的信息画出不必要的框架元素. 注意现在2和11的框架交于一点,以及2和3的框架如何共享一个像素的线,而这又完全与13和23的左边框对齐. 这就是 Item 的强大功能.

Click for copyable input

框架和标签

为一个表达式添加框架或标签可以通过 Grid 完成,但这些操作在概念上比一般的二维布局简单得多,所以有相应更简单的方法来达到这个目的. 例如 Framed 是一个简单的函数,用于在任意表达式周围绘制一个框架,这样做可以将注意力吸引到表达式的各个部分.

Click for copyable input

Labeled 也是这样的一个函数,它允许在给定表达式周围的任意一处加标签. 此处我们给上一小节的 Grid 例子加上图例. (Spacer 是为留空格设计的函数.)

In[19]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[19]=

Panel 是另一个构建框架的函数,它使用底层操作系统的面板框架. 这不同于 Frame,因为不同的操作系统可能会使用阴影、圆角或用于面板框架的花哨的图形设计元素.

In[20]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[20]=

注意 Panel 对于字体类和字体尺寸也有自己的定义,因此 Grid 的内容改变字体类和尺寸,Text 也改变字体尺寸. (尽管如此 Text 关于字体类有自己的定义,且保持 Mathematica 中的文本字体.) 在关于 BaseStyle 选项的小节中,我们将对此进行较深入地探讨.

最后应该指出的是,Panel 自身有一个可选的第二个参数,用于指定一个或多个标签,它会自动在面板以外定位,还有一个可选的第三个参数,用于给出该位置的细节. 详见 Panel 的参考资料.

In[37]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[37]=
In[38]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[38]=

其它注释

到目前为止所提到的注释都有一个非常明确的可视组件. 还有一些注释在用户需要它们之前实际上是不可见的. 例如 Tooltip 不改变其第一个参数的显示,只有当您将鼠标指针在显示部分移动时,第二个参数才作为一个提示条(tooltips)出现.

Click for copyable input

Mouseover 也属于这类函数,但不是在提示中显示结果,它使用的屏幕区域与后来鼠标指针在上移动的区域相同. 如果这两个显示的大小不同,那么效果会不和谐,因此使用大小相近的显示,或者使用 Mouseover 中的 ImageSize 选项给两个中较大的显示留出空间,无论正在显示哪一个.

Click for copyable input

Tooltip 类似的是 StatusAreaPopupWindow. StatusArea 在笔记本的状态区域(status area)显示额外信息,该区域通常在左下角,而 PopupWindow 将在点击时将额外信息显示在一个新窗口中.

Click for copyable input
Click for copyable input

最后,您可以通过成对使用 AnnotationMouseAnnotation 为一个注释指定一个任意位置.

Click for copyable input

当使用的注释仅仅通过在屏幕的一个区域移动鼠标指针而触发时,考虑用户是很重要. 移动鼠标不应该引发长时间的计算或很多的视觉混乱. 但是谨慎的使用注释可以给用户带来很大的帮助.

最后,请注意所有这些注释在图形中也同样适用. 因此,你可以提供提示条(tooltips)或鼠标悬停(mouseovers)协助用户了解您所创建的复杂图形. 其实,连 ListPlot 或者 DensityPlot 这样的可视化函数也支持 Tooltip. 详细情况请参见参考资料.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

默认样式

正如我们在"框架和标签"小节中所看到的,对 Panel 等的创建实际上类似于 Style,因为它们设置了一个能使一组默认样式应用于其内容的环境. 这可以通过明确的 Style 命令进行覆盖,也可以被 Panel 自身通过 BaseStyle 选项覆盖. BaseStyle 可以被设置为一种样式,或者是一列样式指令,正如在 Style 中的用法一样,并且这些指令成为该 Panel 范围内的默认环境.

我们已经看到,Panel 在默认情况下使用对话框字体系列和尺寸,但是这可以用 BaseStyle 选项进行覆盖.

Click for copyable input
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=

事实上,几乎所用的框符生成器都有一个 BaseStyle 选项. 例如这里是一个默认字体颜色为蓝色的网格,注意灰色的元素保持灰色,因为内部的 Style 封装胜过外围 GridBaseStyle. (这是选项可继承性的主要特征之一,它超出了本文的讨论范围.)

Click for copyable input

默认选项

假设您有一个表达式,多次出现同一框符生成器,如一个 FramedPanel,您想将它们全部改变,使之含有相同的选项集合. 在函数每一次出现时都添加相同的选项集可能会非常繁琐, 幸好这里有一个更简单的方法.

DefaultOptionsStyle 的一个选项,当被设置成形如 的一列元素时,该选项会用所给选项设置一个环境,作为给定框符生成头部的默认环境. 在整个 Style 的封装内这些选项都是激活状态,但只针对于相关联的框符发生器.

假设您有一个表达式含有某些 Framed 项,你希望所有这些项都用相同背景和框架样式画出.

Click for copyable input

事实上,这个输入太短,不能看到该语法的优越性. 但是如果您手动指定同一列表,就可看出它的优越性.

Click for copyable input

现在在每一个 Framed 的封装内插入 BackgroundFrameStyle 选项会非常耗时,尽管您一定能做到(或者通过写一段程序来为您完成). 而使用 DefaultOptions,您可以有效的设置一个环境,使得所有的 Framed 封装都使用您对 BackgroundFrameStyle 的设置.

Click for copyable input

这种方法可以方便地建立遵循统一样式的结构,而不必将样式在多处进行指定,这可以产生相对清晰的代码和更小的文件,也更易于维护.

数学排版

没有格式化输出的讨论将是不完整的,至少要提及数学语法中所特有的格式结构.

Click for copyable input

我们将不对此进行详细,但我们会指出,这些结构在内核中没有任何内置的数学意义. 例如,Superscript[a, b] 不会被解释为 Power[a, b],尽管两者的显示相同. 因此,您可以在格式化输出时将这些作为结构元素使用,而不必担心它们的意义会影响您的显示.

In[67]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[67]=

使用框符语言(Box Language)

最后一点说明是,对于已经很熟悉框符语言的用户可能偶尔会发现,这些框符生成器在您构建自己的底层框符时会产生阻碍,将它们的显示插入到一段输出中. 这可以适用于任何一个分层技术,其在抽象层将试图隐藏其所在层. 然而,通过一个简单的漏洞,您可以将您恰好知道是有效的框符直接显示在输出中:RawBoxes.

Click for copyable input

正如和其它所有漏洞一样,RawBoxes 给了您更高的灵活性,但它也可以让您搬起石头砸自己的脚,请小心使用. 如果您还不熟悉框符语言,也许你不应该使用它.

New to Mathematica? Find your learning path »
Have a question? Ask support »

Formatted Output

Ever since Version 3 of Mathematica, there has been rich support for arbitrary mathematical typesetting and layout. Underlying all that power was a so-called box language, which allowed notebooks themselves to be Mathematica expressions. This approach turned out to be very powerful, and has formed the basis of many unique features in Mathematica. However, despite the power of the box language, in practice it was awkward enough for users to access directly that few did.

Starting in Version 6, there is a higher-level interface to this box language which takes much of the pain out of using boxes directly, while still exposing all the same typesetting and layout power. Functions in this new layer are often referred to as box generators, but there is no need for you to be aware of the box language to use them effectively. In this tutorial, we will take a look at box generators that are relevant for displaying a wide variety of expressions, and we will show some ways in which they can be used to generate beautifully formatted output that goes beyond simple mathematical typesetting.

Styling Output

The Mathematica front end supports all the usual style mechanisms available in word processors, for example including menus for changing font characteristics. However, it used to be very difficult to access those styling mechanisms automatically in generated output. Output continued to be almost universally plain 12 point Courier (or Times for those people using TraditionalForm). To address this, the function Style was created. Whenever you evaluate a Style expression, its output will be displayed with the given style attributes active.

You can wrap Style around any sort of expression. Here is an example that displays prime and composite numbers using different font weights and colors via Style.

In[1]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[1]=

There are hundreds of formatting options that you could apply with Style—see the documentation for Style for a more complete listing—but there are a handful that are by far the most common, listed here.

Menu
Style[] option
Style[] directive
Format ► Size ► 14FontSize->1414
Format ► Text Color ► GrayFontColor->GrayGray
Format ► Face ► BoldFontWeight->BoldBold
Format ► Face ► ItalicFontSlant->ItalicItalic
Format ► Background Color ► YellowBackground->Yellow
Format ► FontFontFamily->"Times"
Format ► Style ► Subsection"Subsection"

Note that Style can be arbitrarily nested, with the innermost one taking precedence if there is a conflict. Here we wrap Style around the entire list to apply a new font to all elements of the list.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

Another common thing to want is to have a portion of the output styled like text. It can look quite strange to have text appear in a font which is intended for use by code. For that purpose, we have a function Text which ensures that its argument will always be rendered in a text font. (Those of you familiar with Mathematica graphics will recognize the Text function as a graphics primitive, but that use does not conflict with this use outside of graphics.)

In[3]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[3]=

Style can be used to set up a region on the screen where any option is active, not just options related to fonts. Later in this tutorial, we will see how Style can even affect the display characteristics of other formatting constructs, like Grid or Tooltip.

Grid Layout

Using two-dimensional layout structures can be just as useful as applying style directives to those structures. In Mathematica, the primary function for such layout is Grid. Grid has very flexible layout features, including the ability to arbitrarily adjust things like alignment, frame elements, and spanning elements. (Other tutorials go into Grid features in greater detail, but we will cover the highlights here.)

Look again at the Style example which displays prime and composite numbers differently.

In[11]:=
Click for copyable input

To put this into a Grid, we first use Partition to turn this 100-element list into a 10×10 array. Although you can give Grid a ragged array (a list whose elements are lists of different lengths), in this case we give Grid a regular array, and the resulting display is a nicely formatted layout.

Click for copyable input

Notice that the columns are aligned on center, and there are no frame lines. It is an easy matter to change either of these using Grid options.

Click for copyable input

A complete description of all Grid options and their syntax is beyond the scope of this document, but it is possible to do some remarkable things with them. See the complete Grid documentation for complete details.

There are a few convenience constructs related to Grid. One is Column, which takes a flat list of elements and arranges them vertically. This would be slightly awkward to do with Grid. Here is a simple example, viewing the options of column in, well, a column.

Click for copyable input

What about laying out a list of things horizontally? In that case, the main question you need to ask is whether you want the resulting display to line wrap like a line of math or text would, or whether you want the elements to remain on a single line. In the latter case, you would use Grid applied to a 1×n array.

In[5]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[5]=

But notice in this example that the overall grid shrinks so that it fits in the available window width. As a result, there are elements of the grid which themselves wrap onto multiple lines. This is due to the default ItemSize option of Grid. If you want to allow the elements of a grid to be as wide as they would naturally be, set ItemSize to Full.

In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=

Of course, now the whole grid is too wide to fit on one line (unless you make this window very wide), and so there are elements in the grid which you cannot see. That brings us to the other horizontal layout function: Row.

Given a list of elements, Row will allow the overall result to word wrap in the natural way, just like a line of text or math would. This type of layout will be familiar to those of you who might have used the old (and now obsolete) SequenceForm function.

Click for copyable input

As you can see, Row does not leave space between elements by default. But if you give a second argument, that expression is inserted between elements. Here we use a comma, but any expression can be used.

Click for copyable input

If you resize the notebook window, you will see that Grid with ItemSize->Automatic continues to behave differently than Row, and each is useful in different circumstances.

Using Output as Input

This is a good time to point out that Style, Grid, and all other box generators are persistent in output. If you were to take a piece of output that had some formatting created by Style or Grid and reuse that as input, the literal Style or Grid expressions would appear in the input expression. Those of you familiar with the old uses of StyleBox and even functions like MatrixForm will find this a change.

Consider taking the output of this Grid command, which has lots of embedded styles, and using it in some input expression.

In[17]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[17]=
In[18]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[18]=

Notice that the grid is still a grid, it is still blue, and the elements are still bold or gray as before. Also notice that having literal Grid and Style in the expression interferes with what would have otherwise been adding a scalar to a matrix, and raising the result to a power. This distinction is very important, since you almost always want these composite structures to resist being interpreted automatically in some way. However, if you ever do want to get rid of these wrappers and get at your data, that is easy enough to do.

In[19]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[19]=

Special Grid Entries

To allow more flexible two-dimensional layout, Grid accepts a few special symbols like SpanFromLeft as entries. The entry SpanFromLeft indicates that the grid entry immediately to the left should take up its own space and also the space of the spanning character. There are also SpanFromAbove and SpanFromBoth. See "Grids, Rows, and Columns" for detailed information.

Click for copyable input

This approach can be used to create complicated spanning setups. Typing something like the following as an input would take a long time. Luckily you can create this table interactively by using Make Spanning and Split Spanning in the Insert ► Table/Matrix submenu. If you want to see what would be involved in typing this, evaluate the cell, which will show how it should be typed as input.

In[18]:=
Click for copyable input

We have already seen how to apply things like alignment and background to a grid as a whole, or to individual columns or rows. What we have not seen though is how to override that for an individual element. Say you want your whole grid to have the same background, except for a few special elements. A convenient way to do that is to wrap each such element in Item, and then specify options to Item which override the corresponding option in Grid.

Click for copyable input

You could override this option with Style too, but the purpose of Item is to override it in a way that knows about the two-dimensional layout of Grid. Notice in the preceding output that whenever two of the yellow cells are next to each other, there is no blue space between them. That would be impossible to do with constructs other than Item.

The same thing goes for all Item options, not just Background. Consider the Frame option. If you want no frame elements except around certain specified elements, you might think that you have to wrap them in their own Grid with the Frame->True setting. (We will learn a much easier way to add a frame around an arbitrary expression in the next section.)

Click for copyable input

But notice that adjacent framed elements do not share their boundaries. Compare that with using Item, below, which has enough information to not draw more frame elements than are necessary. Notice now the frames of 2 and 11 meet at a single point, and how the frames of 2 and 3 share a single-pixel line, which in turn is perfectly aligned with the left frame of 13 and 23. That is the power of Item.

Click for copyable input

Frames and Labels

Adding a frame or a label to an expression can be done with Grid, but conceptually these are much simpler operations than general two-dimensional layout, and so there are correspondingly simpler ways to get them. For instance, Framed is a simple function for drawing a frame around an arbitrary expression. This can be useful to draw attention to parts of an expression, for instance.

Click for copyable input

Labeled is another such function, which allows labels to be placed at arbitrary locations around a given expression. Here we add a legend to the Grid example from the last section. (Spacer is just a function that is designed to leave empty space.)

In[19]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[19]=

Panel is yet another framing construct, which uses the underlying operating system's panel frame. This is different from Frame, as different operating systems might use a drop shadow, rounded corners, or fancier graphic design elements for a panel frame.

In[20]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[20]=

Note that Panel has its own concept of font family and size as well, so the contents of Grid change font family and size, and the Text changes font size. (Text has its own opinion about font family though, and so it remains in Mathematica's text font.) We will talk about this in some detail below in the section on the BaseStyle option.

Finally, we should point out that Panel itself has an optional second argument to specify one or more labels, which are automatically positioned outside the panel, and an optional third argument to give details of that position. See the documentation for Panel for more detail.

In[37]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[37]=
In[38]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[38]=

Other Annotations

The annotations mentioned so far have a very definite visual component. There are a number of annotations which are effectively invisible, until the user needs them. Tooltip for example does not change the display of its first argument, and only when you move the mouse pointer over that display is the second argument shown, as a tooltip.

Click for copyable input

Mouseover is another such function, but instead of displaying the result in a tooltip, it uses the same area of the screen that had been used for the display before you moved the mouse pointer over it. If the two displays are different sizes, then the effect can be jarring, so it is a good idea to use displays which are closer to the same size, or use the Mouseover ImageSize option to leave space for the larger of the two displays, regardless of which is being displayed.

Click for copyable input

Also similar to Tooltip are StatusArea and PopupWindow. StatusArea displays the extra information in the notebook's status area, typically in the lower-left corner, while PopupWindow will display extra information in a new window when clicked.

Click for copyable input
Click for copyable input

Finally, you can specify an arbitrary location for an annotation by using the pair Annotation and MouseAnnotation.

Click for copyable input

When using annotations that are triggered merely by moving the mouse pointer over a region of the screen, it is important to keep the user in mind. Moving the mouse is not something that should trigger a long evaluation or a lot of visual clutter. But used sparingly, annotations can be quite helpful to users.

Finally, note that all these annotations work perfectly well in graphics too. So you can provide tooltips or mouseovers to aid users in understanding a complicated graphic you have created. In fact, even visualization functions like ListPlot or DensityPlot support Tooltip. See the documentation for details.

In[2]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[2]=

Default Styles

As we saw in the section "Frames and Labels", constructs like Panel actually work much like Style, in that they set up an environment in which a set of default styles is applied to their contents. This can be overridden by explicit Style commands, but it can also be overridden for the Panel itself, through the BaseStyle option. BaseStyle can be set to a style or a list of style directives, just like you would use in Style. And those directives then become the ambient default within the scope of that Panel.

As we have already seen, Panel by default uses the dialog font family and size. But that can be overridden by using this BaseStyle option.

Click for copyable input
In[7]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[7]=

Actually, almost all of these box generators have a BaseStyle option. For instance, here is a grid in which the default font color is blue. Notice that the elements that were gray stay gray, since the inner Style wrapper trumps the outer Grid BaseStyle. (This is one of the principal characteristics of option inheritance, which is beyond the scope of this document to discuss.)

Click for copyable input

Default Options

Say you have an expression with multiple occurrences of the same box generator, like a Framed or a Panel, and you want to change all of them to have the same set of options. It might be cumbersome to go through and add the same set of options to every occurrence of that function. Thankfully, there is an easier way.

DefaultOptions is an option to Style which, when set to a list of elements of the form . sets up an environment with the given options as the ambient default for the given box-generating head. Those options will be active throughout the Style wrapper, but only in any instances of the associated box generator.

Suppose you had an expression that contained some Framed items, and you wanted them all to be drawn with the same background and frame style.

Click for copyable input

Actually, that input is too short to see the advantage of this syntax. Say you had this same list, but specified manually.

Click for copyable input

Now inserting Background and FrameStyle options into every Framed wrapper is prohibitively time consuming, although you certainly could do it (or you could write a program to do it for you). But using DefaultOptions, you can effectively set up an environment in which all Framed wrappers will use your settings for Background and FrameStyle, thus.

Click for copyable input

This approach makes it easy to create structures that follow uniform style guidelines without having to specify those styles in more than one place, which makes for considerably cleaner code, smaller file sizes, and easier maintenance.

Mathematical Typesetting

No discussion of formatted output would be complete without at least a nod toward the formatting constructs that are unique to mathematical syntaxes.

Click for copyable input

We will not discuss these at length, but we will point out that these constructs do not have any built-in mathematical meaning in the kernel. For example, Superscript[a, b] will not be interpreted as Power[a, b], even though their displays are identical. So you can use these as structural elements in your formatted output without having to worry about their meaning affecting your display.

In[67]:=
Click for copyable input
Out[67]=

Using the Box Language

One final note. Those of you who are already familiar with the box language might occasionally find that these box generators get in the way of your constructing low level boxes yourselves, and inserting their display into a piece of output. That can be true for any layered technology where one abstraction layer attempts to hide the layers on which it sits. However, there is a simple loophole through which you can take boxes which you happen to know are valid, and display them directly in output: RawBoxes.

Click for copyable input

As with all loopholes, RawBoxes gives you added flexibility, but it also allows you to shoot yourself in the foot. Use with care. And if you are not yet familiar with the box language, perhaps you should not use it at all.

New to Mathematica? Find your learning path »
Have a question? Ask support »